Opening Ceremony of Girish Kasaravalli’s National Film Festival

Girish Kasaravalli’s National Award Winning Film Festival was inaugurated today on 18th Aug 2017. The opening ceremony was held at Maquinez palace, ESG Complex, Panaji at 6.30 pm at the hands of Shri. Girish Kasaravalli, renowed Indian Film Director, Shri Rajendra Talak, Vice Chairman-ESG and Shri Daulat Hawaldar, Secretary Finance.

Shri Sachin Chate compered the inaugural function. Shri Daulat Hawaldar, Secretary (Finance) presented a momento to Shri Girish Kasaravalli on behalf of Entertainment Society of Goa and Shri. M V Badami, President, Kannada Samaj felicitated the renowed Film Director on behalf of Kannada Samaj. Shri Girish Kasaravalli said “There are two kinds of Indian Cinemas. One is Authentic Cinema and the other one is synthetic Cinema”. He also said to focus more on Authentic cinemas rather than synthetic cinemas.  He thanked Entertainment Society of Goa and the Kannada Samaj for holding such type of event. He also thanked Club members and the audience present.

The festival which would be held from 18th Aug 2017 to 20th Aug 2017 would be a three days entertainment bonanza catering to connoisseurs of Girish Kasaravalli’s National Award winning movies. The movies will be screened at Auditorium 1, Maquinez Palace, ESG Complex, Panaji. This festival is open to Cinephile Film Club members and general public. Seating will be strictly on first come first serve basis.

The opening movie screened was Ghatashraddha (English: The Ritual) and was open to all.

During these three days of the film festival, Girish Kasarvalli’s three films which have won National Award will be screened as follows:-

19th August ’17, Saturday (6.30 PM) – Dweepa

20th August ’17, Sunday (11 AM) – Hasina

20th August ’17, Sunday (6.30 PM) – Gulabi Talkies

*All movies are with English sub titles.

Also the awards for 8th Goa State Film Festival(2014-2015), Marathi feature film category was presented to the awardees in the hands of Shri. Girish Kasarvalli.. The awards were declared for twelve categories, out of which the film Guru Pournima got nine awards while Prem at First Sight won three awards.

Below is the list of awards.




Best Film

Shreehit Production

Guru Pournima

Best Direction

Girish Mohite

Guru Pournima

Best Actor

Upendra Limaye

Guru Pournima

Best Actress

Sai Tamhankar

Guru Pournima

Best Supporting Actress

Sulbha Arya

Guru Pournima

Best Story

Swapnil Gangurde

Guru Pournima

Best Screenplay

Jitendra Desai

Guru Pournima

Best Dialogue

Jitendra Desai

Guru Pournima

Best Playback Singer

Rajesh Madgaonkar

Prem at First Sight

Best Cinematography

Swapnil Manval

Prem at First Sight

Best Editor

Nilesh Navnath Gawand

Guru Pournima

Spcl. Jury Award

Aaryan Khedekar

Prem at First Sight