9th Goa State Film Festival 2018

Department of information & publicity ( Govt. of Goa) and Entertainment Society of Goa brings to you the 9th edition of Goa state film festival 2018 in Panjim from 3rd to 6th May 2018 at Maquinez Palace. Be a part of this festival and enjoy 10 feature films, two non feature films, musical shows, entertainment, food and much more. Support Goan cinema.
Open for all.


JURY – Feature Films

Girish Kasaravalli (Chairperson)

Girish Kasaravalli is an acclaimed Indian film director, who has made films in Kannada and he is one of the pioneers of the Parallel Cinema in the country.  Known internationally for his works, Kasaravalli has garnered thirteen National Film Awards, including four Best Feature FilmsGhatashraddha (1977), Tabarana Kathe (1986), Thaayi Saheba (1997) and Dweepa (2002). A gold medalist from the Film and Television Institute of India, he was awarded Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award by Government of India, in 2011.

Pratima Kulkarni (Member)

A post graduate in English Literature and Aesthetics, Pratima Kulkarni began her career in the field of performing arts at a very early age. Having made her Directorial debut with the play Atmakatha in the year 1988, she went on to win several awards for her work in Theatre and Television. Her first film as an independent Director, a children’s film in Hindi titled School was made in 2003 which was very successful and was also invited to the Cairo Children’s Film Festival in 2005.

Ashok Patki  (Member)

He is an Indian music director and composer, working predominantly in Marathi cinematheatre and television. He is best known for his very popular compositions like Mile Sur Mera Tumhara“, “Purab Se Surya Uga“. He has also composed over 5000 jingles and has been awarded with Indian  for Best Music Direction at the 54th National Film Awards in 2006 for a Konkani filmAntarnaad.

Meenakshi Shedde (Member)

Meenakshi Shedde is a National Award winning film critic who has contributed to various National, International magazines and dailies. She is the South Asia Consultant for the prestigious Berlin International Film Festival for the last 20 years and is also associated with the Dubai International Film Festival, Asia Pacific Screen Awards and British Film Institute. She has served as a Jury Member of 20 international film festivals, including Cannes, Berlin and Venice. She has also been a Script Consultant/Mentor to the National Film Development Corporation (NFDC), Locarno Film Festival Open Doors, Drishyam – Sundance Screenwriters’ Lab.



JURY – Non-Feature Films

Dhritiman Chatterjee (Chairperson)

Dhritiman Chatterjee is an Indian actor who began his acting career in 1970 as the protagonist of maestro Satyajit Ray‘s Pratidwandi (The Adversary). Most of his acting work has been in India’s “parallel”, or independent, cinema with acclaimed filmmakers such as Satyajit RayMrinal Sen and Aparna Sen, among others. He has also worked in English films with well-known filmmakers such as Deepa Mehta and Oscar winner Jane Campion. He has received several acting awards in India and has been on the Jury of the Indian National Film Awards. Recently, he received accolades for his performance in the National Award winning film, Pink. 

Amrit Pritam (Member)

Amrit Pritam is an Indian sound designer who works closely with Oscar winner Resul Pookutty. Amrit was born in Guwahati, Assam, and is presently based in Mumbai. He is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He has worked on a number of popular films like Ra.One, Ghajini and PK.

Spandan Banerjee (Member)

Spandan Banerjee is an Indian independent filmmaker whose films include the National Award-winning You Don’t Belong, To-Let (Best Doc IDSFFK 2013) which have been very well received. His earlier film Beware Dogs (World Premiere IFFR 2008) was one of a kind and one of the first music documentaries from India. His films have a distinct style and language and have often been compared to jazz in its form.